2014 CAT AWARD RECIPIENTS ANNOUNCED!



Saturday, August 23, 2014, marked the **11th Annual CAT Awards**, a celebration of Calgary's Community Theatre at the University of Calgary's Rozsa Centre.

The annual CAT Awards is an event that celebrates the quality of work that Calgarians can expect to see from Community Theatre in Calgary and surrounding areas. The CAT Awards is produced by Calgary-ACTS (Calgary's Alliance of Community Theatres) which focuses on promoting community theatre in Calgary, by informing its members and the public of events related to the arts, and providing a communication and support network for its members. Recipients of the CAT Awards are determined by a combined process of public nomination and adjudication. We encourage you all to attend community theatre productions and nominate your favorites throughout the upcoming 2014-2015 season. Please visit <u>www.calgary-acts.com</u> to nominate anyone (starting September 1), or if you have any questions about the CAT Awards or Calgary-ACTS.

Brian Holiday, a well known recreational actor, musical director, committee member and adjudicator received the prestigious **Sandy Singer Award** for his dedication and outstanding contribution to our community. We are so proud to recognize his deep commitment

Every year, theatre companies are given the opportunity to honor any of their exceptional volunteers. These volunteers are people who have gone above and beyond the normal to ensure that the show, project, or event they are working on is a success.

Recipients of the 2014 Volunteer Awards:

Dewdney Players - Annette Kavalinas and her Family

Front Row Centre Players - Alexandra May

Liffey Players Drama Society - Marise Kelly

Morpheus Theatre - Byron Hynes

Scorpio Theatre - Ian Pond Darren Moore Matt Pickering

Storybook Theatre - Kathy Bauer Lorie Masur Rich Davis Jolene Anderson

Congratulations to all recipients, and to all nominees, for a wonderful 2013/14 season! We will see you next year!

2014 CAT Awards Committee

2014 CAT Award Recipients

Outstanding Performance by a Supporting Actress in a Musical

• Donna Barnfield as Frau Blucher in Young Frankenstein – (Front Row Centre Players)

Outstanding Performance by a Supporting Actor in a Musical

• Tenaj Wiliams as Donkey in Shrek, the Musical - (StoryBook Theatre)

Outstanding SFX (Sound for a Musical)

• Étienne St. Jacques for Shrek, The Musical - (StoryBook Theatre)

Outstanding Soundscape (for Play)

• Jevon Hills for That Championship Season – (TimeQuake Productions)

Outstanding Stagecraft (all aspects of set design)

• JP Thibodeau, Set Design (Lorie Masur, Rich Davis, Lilja Gareau Smith, Deb Miall, Bill Brown, Kristine Astop: construction support) for Shrek, The Musical - (StoryBook Theatre)

Outstanding Performance by a Supporting Actor in a Play

• Jerry Callaghan as Bill Fordham in August: Osage Country - (Liffey Players)

Outstanding Performance by a Supporting Actress in a Play

• Faith Amantea as Gretchen in Boeing Boeing - (Morpheus Theatre)

Outstanding Costume Design

• Magz Ross (Cat Bentley - Hair, Kirstie Gallant - Make-Up/Prosthetics) for Shrek the Musical - (StoryBook Theatre)

Outstanding Lighting Design

• JP Thibodeau for Shrek the Musical - (StoryBook Theatre)

Outstanding Performance by a Chorus (Musical)

• Shrek the Musical - (StoryBook Theatre)

Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble (Play)

• That Championship Season - (TimeQuake Productions)

Outstanding Choreography

• Laura Solilo for Big The Musical - (StoryBook Theatre)

Outstanding Stage Fight

• Aaron Conrad for August: Osage Country - (Liffey Players)

Outstanding Musical Direction

• Patrice Barnes for Shrek the Musical - (StoryBook Theatre)

Outstanding Original Script or Adaptation

• Jeff Carter for Pastoral Paranoia - (Scorpio Theatre)

Outstanding Performance by a Leading Actress in a Musical

• Tanis Laatsch as Inga in Young Frankenstein - (Front Row Centre Players)

&

• Shandra McQueen as the Baker's Wife in Into the Woods – (Cappuccino Musical Theatre)

Outstanding Performance by a Leading Actor in a Musical

• Jeremy Walker as Shrek in Shrek the Musical - (StoryBook Theatre)

Outstanding Direction of a Musical

• Graeme Humphrey/Matthew McDonald for Young Frankenstein - (Front Row Centre Players)

Outstanding Direction of a Play

• Bill Torrie for August: Osage Country - (Liffey Players)

Outstanding Performance by a Leading Actor in a Play

• Jerod Blake as Jake (et al) in Stones in his Pockets - (Liffey Players)

Outstanding Performance by a Leading Actress in a Play

• Tanya Wolff as Barbara in August: Osage Country - (Liffey Players)

Outstanding Production of a Play

That Championship Season – TimeQuake Productions

Producer: Greg Spielman

Director: Bill Torrie

Stage Manager: Daisy Pond

Outstanding Production of a Musical

Shrek the Musical - Storybook Theatre

Producers: Ainsley Ohler, Maria Bernardin, Lorie Masur, Jacqueline Bourque

Director: * Mark Bellamy

Musical Director: Patrice Barnes

Choreographer: Angela Woodard

Stage Manager: Jody Low

To see a full list of nominees, please visit www.calgary-acts.com

A * means professional status. The CAT Awards Committee wishes to honour those professionals who contribute to our community theatre productions while being exempt from receiving our awards. Special thank you's to Mark Bellamy (Director), JP Thibodeau (Director) and Tory Doctor (Director).